Governance Committee

Governance Committee, consisting of former Government official, Legislative Councilor, academicsand professionals of the organic industry, have been set up by the IBA since January 2017. The role of the Governance Committee is to provide professional advice about the direction for theIBA and to oversee and govern the establishment of the IBA with funding support from the HSBC150th Anniversary Charity Programme.

List of Members (from 1.1.2021 to 31.12.2022):

  Name Title / Organisation
Chairperson Mr. Alan WONG Chi Kong, JP Former Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department
Members Prof. Guo, Yi-Ke Vice-President (Research and Development) of Hong Kong Baptist University
  Prof. CHAU Kwai Cheong, BBS, JP Department of Geography and Resource Management of Chinese University of Hong Kong
  Mr. Simon WONG Ka Wo, JP Group Chairman, Kampery Group
  Ms. Christine CHAN Golf Course Superintendent, The Jockey Club Kau Sai Chau Public Golf Course Ltd.
  Mr. CHAN Kin Yip, MH President, The Federation of Hong Kong Agricultural Associations
  Dr. CHAN Hon Fai, BBS Managing Director, Cinotech Consultants Limited
  Mr. LEE Yuk Fat, FPVCB(Hon.) Chairman, Volk Favor Food Company Limited
  Mr. YEUNG Hiu Wa, Peter Managing Director, Capital Green Trading Limited 
  Ms. LEUNG Lai Shi Business Development Manager, Tai Tong Organic Ecopark Co. Ltd
Secretariat Prof. Jonathan WONG, BBS, MH, JP Hong Kong Baptist University

Director of the IBA

Prof. Jonathan WONG, BBS, MH, JP

Assistant Director of the IBA

Dr. Sam S. S. LAU

Management Committee

Management Committee, led by the Director of the IBA, have been set up by the IBA since September 2017.

The main roles of the Management Committee are to provide valuable insights and expertise for the implementation of the IBA, to develop collaboration with other institutes in Hong Kong and Overseas and to lead the research operation team in one of the specific areas of the IBA.

List of Members (from 28.11.2019 to 27.11.2021):

  Name with title Area/Responsibility
Chairperson Prof. Jonathan WONG, BBS, MH, JP, Department of Biology, HKBU Project Leader & Team leader (Museum, Training support, research directions)
Members Ir. Cary CHAN, Executive Director, HKGBC Team member (Museum, Sustainability and Education)
  Dr. Benny CHOW, Director of Sustainability, Aedas Limited Team member (Museum, Sustainability and Education)
  Prof. LAM Hon Ming, School of Life Science,  CUHK Team member (Research - Indigenous seed breeding and crop nutrition)
  Prof. CHEUNG Chi Keung Peter, School of Life Sciences, CUHK Team member (Research - Mushroom and food science)
  Dr. ZHANG Hao Allen, Faculty of Design and Environment, THEi Team Member (Research - Crop and tree production) 
  Prof. ZHANG jian Hua, School of Sciences, HKBU Team Member (ex-official member, Crop production)
  Dr. Lau Sam S. S., College of International Education, HKBU Team Member (Tertiary curriculum) 
  Dr. Michelle Law, Department of Biology, HKBU Team Member (Research - Biodiversity in soil)

Advisory Members
Prof. LI Gouxie China Agricultural University, Beijing
Prof. CHEN Qing China Agricultural University, Beijing
Prof. XIAO Xingli Director, Organic Food Development Centre, Nanjing Institute of Environmental Science​
Hon Steven HO Chun Yin, BBS Legislative Councilor Member

Third Party Reviewers
Prof. Qirong SHEN Former Vice President of Nanjing Agricultural University
Prof. HO Kin Chung, BBS, JP School of Science & Technology, Open University of Hong Kong


(852) 3411-2384
(852) 3411-2373
Room 1201,
Chan Wu Wan Kwai SCE Tower,
Hong Kong Baptist University,
Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong